Ableton Live Workflow Tips Part 6 – Deactivate Clips or Notes

Sometimes you might want to temporarily mute particular clips or individual notes in a MIDI clip. To figure out what's unnecessary, unwanted or to add variations or a break. However you don't want to destroy anything you already have in the process.

In Live you can quickly do this by deactivating clips or notes. They still exist in the same spot, but are not audible. The command works like a switch and thus re-activates them when called a second time. You will only see the option that is not in play, meaning when the clip is deactivated, you will only see 'Activate Clip(s)' and vice versa.

To deactivate/activate a clip:

Right-click (Win) or Ctrl-click (Mac) on the clip and choose the command 'Deactivate Clip(s)' or 'Activate Clip(s)' from the context menu.

To deactivate/activate notes in a MIDI clip:

Double-click the desired MIDI clip, select the note(s) to mute, then right-click (Win) or Ctrl-click (Mac) to choose the command 'Deactivate Note(s)' or 'Activate Note(s)' respectively.

To deactivate/activate multiple clips or notes in a MIDI clip:

Use Ctrl (Win) or Cmd (Mac) or click and drag to select multiple clips or notes, then right- or Ctrl-click and choose the command. If you want to deactivate all notes of the same key (e.g. C3), right-click on the respective key in the piano roll and choose the command.

The first tutorial of the series is Ableton Live Workflow Tips Part 1 - The Editing Grid. Next up: Ableton Live Workflow Tips Part 7 - MIDI Note Stretch.

By | 2017-02-02T20:23:37+00:00 November 26th, 2012|Ableton Live Tutorials|2 Comments

About the Author:

Madeleine Bloom is a musician, producer, multi-instrumentalist and singer from Berlin. She studied Electroacoustic Music at the Franz Liszt Conservatory. In the last few years she's worked as a technical support for Ableton and has helped countless people with her in-depth knowledge of Ableton Live, various other music apps as well as audio engineering.

2 Comments

  1. Henrik Cederblad April 14, 2017 at 13:53 - Reply

    While pressing ‘0’ key for deactivating a clip works fine and dandy, I think it’s a bit cumbersome that, when you hit ‘0’ key again (effectively activating the clip again), the clip won’t automatically start playing. You have to hit ‘0’ (re-activating muted clip) and THEN you also need to hit ‘Return’ key to have it played back at next measure.

    Is there a way to alter this behavior to have it automatically mute / play on hitting just a single key (‘0’) ?

    • Madeleine Bloom April 16, 2017 at 12:29 - Reply

      Deactivating a clip isn’t meant to be used the way you want to. If you want to have a clip not playing, use the stop clip button in the respective track.

Leave A Comment