Ableton Live 9 Quick Tips: Reset Parameters

This episode of the Ableton Live 9 Quick Tips brings you another workflow tip in the form of a shortcut. This time I will show how you can quickly reset device parameters to their default value. This can be extremely handy when you play around with a preset and notice that some things haven't turned out for the better.

 

Something to add or ask? Head to the comments below.

More Ableton Live 9 Quick Tips.

By | 2017-02-02T20:10:44+00:00 October 13th, 2015|Ableton Live Tutorials|1 Comment

About the Author:

Madeleine Bloom is a musician, producer, multi-instrumentalist and singer from Berlin. She studied Electroacoustic Music at the Franz Liszt Conservatory. In the last few years she's worked as a technical support for Ableton and has helped countless people with her in-depth knowledge of Ableton Live, various other music apps as well as audio engineering.

One Comment

  1. James October 23, 2015 at 19:37 - Reply

    it’s worth noting that there is a distinction between Reset and Default. You can create new default values for Track and Device parameters such that when you instantiate them, they arrive at your chosen values: a new audio track set at -12db on the meter populated with a compressor, for example, or a scale device that arrives in the key of E when added to a midi track.
    But reset is kind of like the unity value for a parameter. When pressing delete that same audio track that I saved as default settings in my example will still to revert to 0, not -12db.
    The exception I think is that macro values on a grouped device can be saved such that you can plop them in with the values you saved them with and furthermore, when using the delete shortcut on a parameter it will jump back to the value you saved. So if you grouped and mapped the scale device in my example above to Macro 1,
    adjusted Macro 1 such that the base of the scale was E,
    saved the .adg, then now
    brought in the saved device or hotswaped it for the saved-in-place version
    You could then use the delete/backspace key on your Macro 1 knob and it will reset to E, the default we had chosen in the 1st example….

Leave A Comment